Week Seven Update

This post features pics of my furry boyfriend.

Today marks the middle of my seventh week of a refocused effort to improve my health and well being on my Journey to Wellness. I think the seventh week is my danger zone. With previous attempts, I would make it through six weeks but then start falling off the wagon in week seven.

I think focusing on the changes I have made can help get through this:

  • Hired a lifestyle coach; my program started March 20.
  • Stopped eating processed foods (refined carbohydrates/sugar).
  • Started cardio exercise and resistance training.
  • Quit my 365 Project.
  • Bought a Fitbit.

I’ve plateaued and have been stuck for four weeks. After the initial 10-pound/inches lost in the first two weeks (water weight), I’m hovering around the same 3 pound/inches range. I’m getting anxious about this, but my coach is still unconcerned. Prior to hiring a coach and starting this program I had been learning about the benefits of intermittent fasting. As an aging woman, it may be what I need to do if I continue seeing zero changes.

While physical changes aren’t happening, mental/psychological changes are! This happens every time I return to eating clean. I start moving away from What Not Well Feels Like and my outlook and demeanor shift toward more positive notes; I’m more outgoing, energized by being around people, willing to take risks and try new things, and happier overall. I also spend less of my spare time in front of screens.

IMG_2426

What Not Well *Looks* Like (hiding in the corners)

Except right now, well, this week actually. I haven’t exercised at all, I’m generally grumpy, and I want Five Guys and a pint of Cherry Garcia. I’m suspecting hormones—I hate them—or some weird biological seven-week timer that’s had it after six weeks.

IMG_4393

I just can’t even.

Today’s Wellness Wednesday Wisdom is perfect for where I’m at right now.

“Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have to go. You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be.”

I’ll keep on swimming tomorrow, or the next day, maybe even the day after that.

I WILL keep on swimming.

IMG_2550

Isn’t he so cute?